GERMAN   NEWS   CONTACT   DOWNLOAD   LEGAL NOTICE / DATA PROTECTION   GENERAL TERMS AND CONDITIONS Trans-Textil GmbH
  HOME TECHNOLOGIES PROTECTIVE FABRICS MEDICAL APPLICATIONS VAP® & TECHNICAL APPLICATIONS ABOUT TRANS-TEXTIL  
VAP process
     

TRANS-TEXTIL/TECHNICAL APPLICATIONS/VAP®-PROCESS

► VAP® Membranes          ► VAP® Process          ► VAP® Practice          ► VAP® Patent

VAP®: Membrane-assisted low-pressure infiltration

Air and reaction gases that are trapped during closed infusion processes can cause weaknesses in lightweight components. In conventional infusion processes, the entire assembly – subjected to low pressure – must be extensively flushed with the infusion medium until it can be safely assumed that there is no more trapped air and gas inside the component.

In the VAP®assembly, the flexible membrane system – which is permeable to gas but impermeable to the resin – is superficially contacted with the component. When the resin is infiltrated, it separates the matrix from the vacuum duct. With the aid of low-pressure, trapped air and gas can then escape through micro-permeability and are purged via the textile layer.

The vacuum acts uniformly, so trapped air and gas can be evacuated across the entire contact surface during and after infiltration.

VAP® infiltration


Improved flow front management

In all conventional vacuum infiltration processes, the difficulty in successfully infiltrating the component lies in determining, or predicting, the flow fronts in order to avoid undesirable areas of occluded air (‚dry spots‘). If the vacuum then also has to be reduced due to the risk of matrix boiling, it becomes almost impossible to eliminate these imperfections. The reduced vacuum also causes substantial fluctuation in the fibre volume content and material thickness, and lAirbus to greater porosity in the components.

The matrix´s flow behaviour is much more consistent in the Vacuum Assisted Process (VAP®) process because of the uniform vacuum. The low pressure’s extensive effect on all of the membrane system´s contact surfaces reliably removes dry spots, even after infiltration, without the vacuum having to be reduced.


How the semipermeable VAP® membrane system works membrane function

Semi-permeable VAP® membrane systems from Trans-Textil are full of tiny pores. Under vacuum conditions, small molecules of trapped air and gas can be reliably removed, while the large-molecule resin stays stable in the mould.

In the VAP® membrane system, barrier layers are connected (laminated) to a textile substrate. By the optimal combination of components and processing technologies during manufacture, it is possible to accurately control the essential process parameters: air permeability and the resin barrier.

Trans-Textil´s quality-assured VAP® membrane systems have been tested for various different resin types and process variants, and the company is continuously developing the technology in close cooperation with Airbus.


VAP® advantages in the production process: 

● High process reliability, consistently stable and controlled results

● Air and gas removal during and after infiltration

● Simple process control

● Achievement of an exact and constant fibre volume content

● Production of complex 3-dimensional shapes

● Fast infiltration process through higher vacuum = shorter cycle times

● Uniform flow rates in the resin

● Low initial investment: possibility to use tools that are already available

● Improved worker protection and low emissions due to closed process

● VAP® membrane systems by Trans-Textil tested and approved for different resins and processes


VAP® advantages in the end product

● No dry spots or porosity

● Excellent component quality

● Highest quality standards

● Homogenous fibre volume content

The VAP® process proves its strength especially when it comes to the series production of large complex components with a high degree of integration. VAP® offers maximum economy compared to other existing infusion processes:

"A homogeneous fibre volume content and low porosity in the laminate are proven to result in better component characteristics than those produced in any other known injection process."
CCM University of Delaware


» Request information

 
       
  © COPYRIGHT 2018 TRANS-TEXTIL GMBH

ENGLISH   NEWS   KONTAKT   DOWNLOAD   IMPRESSUM / DATENSCHUTZ   ALLGEMEINE GESCHÄFTSBEDINGUNGEN Trans-Textil GmbH
Trans-Textil Trans-Textil Home Trans-Textil Technologie Trans-Textil  Schutztextilien Trans-Textil Outdoor Sport Business Trans-Textil Med. Anwendungen Trans-Textil Techn. Anwendungen Trans-Textil Unternehmen Trans-textil
VAP process
     

TRANS-TEXTIL/TECHNISCHE ANWENDUNGEN/VAP®-PROZESS

► VAP® Membransystem          ► VAP® Prozess          ► VAP® Praxis          ► VAP® Patent

VAP®: Membranunterstützte Niederdruck-Infiltration

Lufteinschlüsse und Reaktionsgase in geschlossenen Infusionsverfahren führen zu Schwachstellen in Leichtbauteilen. In herkömmlichen Prozessen wird der gesamte mit Unterdruck beaufschlagte Aufbau solange aufwändig mit dem Infusionsmedium durchspült, bis davon ausgegangen werden kann, dass sich keine Einschlüsse mehr im Bauteil befinden.

Im VAP®-Aufbau wird das flexible gas-durchlässige und Matrix-Material-undurchlässige Membransystem flächig mit dem Bauteil in Verbindung gebracht. Wird das Harz infiltriert, so trennt es die Matrix von der Vakuumführung. Mithilfe von Unterdruck können so Luft- und Gaseinschlüsse durch die Mikrodurchlässe entweichen und werden über die Textilschicht abgeführt.

Das Vakuum wirkt gleichmäßig und Einschlüsse können über die gesamte Kontaktfläche während und nach der Infiltration entlüftet werden.

VAP® Infiltration


Verbessertes Fließfrontenmanagement

Bei allen herkömmlichen Vakuuminfiltrations-Verfahren besteht die Schwierigkeit einer erfolgreichen Bauteilinfiltration in der Bestimmung bzw. Vorhersage der Fließfronten, um ungewollte Lufteinschlüsse (”Dry Spots”) zu vermeiden. Muss aufgrund der Gefahr des Matrixsiedens das Vakuum zudem reduziert werden, können diese Fehlstellen kaum ausgeglichen werden. Das reduzierte Vakuum führt ferner zu stärkeren Schwankungen im Faservolumengehalt, Dickenschwankungen und höherer Porosität in den Bauteilen.

Das Fließverhalten der Matrix ist im Vacuum Assisted Process VAP®- Verfahren durch das ausgeglichene Vakuum wesentlich gleichmäßiger. Durch die großflächige Wirkung des Unterdrucks an allen Kontaktstellen des Membransystems lassen sich “Dry Spots” auch noch nach Abschluss der Infiltration ohne Reduktion des Vakuums zuverlässig entfernen.


Wie das semipermeable VAP® Membransystem funktioniert  Membranfunktion

Semipermeable VAP®-Membransysteme von Trans-Textil sind durchzogen mit kleinsten Durchlässen. Unter Vakuum lassen sich Luft- und Gaseinschlüsse zuverlässig entfernen, das großmolekulare Harz bleibt hingegen stabil in der Form.

Im VAP®-Membransystem werden Sperrschichten mit textilem Trägermaterial verbunden (laminiert). Durch das perfekte Zusammenspiel der Komponenten und Verarbeitungstechnologien in der Herstellung lassen sich die entscheidenden Prozessparameter genau steuern: Luftdurchlässigkeit und Harzbarriere. 

Qualitätsgesicherte VAP®-Membransysteme von Trans-Textil sind für unterschiedliche Harztypen und Verfahrensvarianten erprobt und werden in Zusammenarbeit mit Airbus technologisch ständig weiterentwickelt.


VAP® Vorteile im Fertigungsprozess  

● Hohe Prozesssicherheit, konstant stabile und gesteuerte Ergebnisse

● Exakte Erreichung des Faservolumengehaltes

● Hohe Reproduzierbarkeit

● Fertigung komplexer Formen

● Schneller Infiltrationsprozess durch höheres Vakuum = kürzere Durchlaufzeiten

● Gleichmäßige Fließraten im Harz

● Geringe Anfangsinvestition: Einfache Einführung durch Nutzung vorhandener Werkzeuge und Schulung durch Fachpersonal

● Arbeitsschutz und geringe Emissionen durch geschlossenes Verfahren

● VAP® Membransysteme von Trans-Textil für verschiedene Harze und Verfahren erprobt 


VAP® Vorteile im Bauteil

● Keine Einschlüsse von Luft oder Reaktionsgasen

● Sehr hohe Bauteilqualität

● Hohe Qualitätsstandards

● Homogener Faservolumengehalt ohne Dickenschwankungen

VAP® ermöglicht im Vergleich zu anderen Infusionsverfahren die wirtschaftlichste Serienfertigung

"Homogener Faservolumengehalt und geringe Porosität im Laminat führen nachweislich zu besseren Werkstoffkennwerten gegenüber allen derzeit bekannten Injektionsverfahren."
CCM University of Delaware

 


» Info anfordern 

 
       
  © COPYRIGHT 2019 TRANS-TEXTIL GMBH